Architecture dept. celebrates excellence at May 11 event

See images from the 2016 Celebration.

Outstanding student and faculty achievements in the Texas A&M Department of Architecture will be showcased at “The Celebration of Excellence,” the department’s public, year-culminating awards presentation and juried competition, 2-7 p.m. Thursday, May 11, 2017 at the Hilton College Station & Conference Center.

The sixth annual Celebration includes presentations of the year’s top five graduate projects, previously selected by department faculty, to a jury composed of luminaries from the architectural world. The contest culminates with the presentation of the Best of the Best Award for the winning project.

The semifinalists and their projects are:

  • Garrett Barker, “The Architecture of Branding,”
  • Andrew Gazda, “Gap to Gateway: The Transformation of a Negative Limit Into a Positive One,”
  • Meredith Hayford, “Double Barrel Brewhouse,”
  • Jaechang Ko, “The Limitations of Diagram Architecture in Healthcare Building Design” and
  • Nathanielle Sybico, “Revitalizing: Osmosis in Architecture in a Kaizuka, Japan Subway Station."

The panel of design experts evaluating the presentations includes Kevin Alter, founding partner of alterstudio; Josh Nason, assistant professor of architecture at the University of Texas at Arlington; Sophia Razzaque, project architect, Lake|Flato;  Michael Rey, principal and vice president of operations at Overland Partners, and Miguel Roldan, co-founding principal of Roldán + Berengué Architects.

After the presentations, the department will honor faculty and student achievements.

Awards will be presented to undergraduate students whose portfolio for admission to upper-levelstudies exhibited high-quality design and research.

The American Institute of Architects’ Henry Adams Medal and Certificate will be presented to the student who consistently delivered the most remarkable work throughout his or her graduate program studies.

The Alpha Rho Chi Medal will be presented to a graduate student for leadership, accomplishment, service and promise of professional merit.

The Architectural Research Centers Consortium’s King Medal will be presented to a student who displays outstanding innovation, integrity and scholarship in research.

Outstanding faculty awards, determined by the results of elections by graduate and undergraduate students, will also be presented.

To see images from previous years’ events, visit the celebration’s respective articles from 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

The Celebration of Excellence is a project of the Department of Architecture’s Council of Excellence, an elite group of department friends and former students who are committed to supporting and enhancing architecture program excellence, building relationships with students, and bridging gaps between the academic and professional worlds.


Richard Nira

posted April 18, 2017