Acknowledgements: Fall 2013 architecture-for-health lectures

Ronald L. Skaggs

Ronald Skaggs

Joseph G. Sprague

Joseph Sprague

Lecture schedule

The Fall 2013 Architecture-for-Health Lecture Series featured 13 presentations by luminaries from the design and construction industries focused on integrated project delivery — a collaborative design and construction process — as it relates to the building of modern health care facilities.

Donors, Patrons & Sponsors

The Architecture-for-Health Lecture Series were made possible by the generous support of former students Ronald L. Skaggs, chairman emeritus, and Joseph G. Sprague, principal and senior vice president, both of HKS Inc.

Ronald L. Skaggs, FAIA, FACHA, FHFI, LEED® AP, is an adjunct professor of architecture at the Texas A&M College of Architecture and donor of the Ronald L. and Sondra Skaggs Endowed Professor in Health Facilities Design and The Skaggs-Sprague Endowed Chair in Health Facilities Design.

Joseph G. Sprague, FAIA, FACHA, FHFI, Principal and Senior Vice President, HKS Inc; president Facility Guidelines Institute; past president of the ACHA-American College of Healthcare Architects. Donor of the Skaggs-Sprague Endowed Chair in Health Facilities Design.

The lecture is presented by the

  • Center for Health Systems & Design
  • Department of Architecture
  • College of Architecture

CHSD Faculty Fellows include Dr. Mardelle Shepley, director;  Prof. Kirk Hamilton, associate director; Dr. Elton Abbot; Dr. Sherry Bame; Dr. Liliana Beltran; Dr. Regina Bentley; Dr. Geoffrey Booth; Dr. Ruzica Bozovic-Stamenovic; Dr. John Bryant; Dr. Paul K. Carlton; Dr. Minyoung Seo Cerruti; Dr. Charles Culp; Dr. Nancy Dickey; Dr. Michael Duffy; Dr. Thomas K. Ferris; Prof. Pliny Fisk; Dr. Jeff Haberl; Dr. Debra Harris; Dr. Chang-Shan Huang; Dr. Sarel Lavy; Dr. Chanam Lee; Dr. Zhipeng Lu; Prof. George J. Mann; Dr. Ranjita Misra; Prof. Jody Naderi; Dr. Marcia Ory; Prof. J. Thomas Regan; Dr. Susan Rodiek; Dr. Zofia Rybkowski; Dr. Don Sweeney; Dr. Lou Tassinary; Dr.  James Varni; Dr. Judith Warren; Prof. Ward Wells;  Dr. Xuemei Zhu;  Professor Rodney Hill, Dr. Jun Hyun Kim, and Dr. Suzanne Yandow, Dr. Macharia Waruingi

2013-14 Students Health Environments Association (SHEA) officers are Nooshin Ahmadi, president; Mario Salinas, vice president; Yasaman Bagheri, vice president marketing; Victoria Garcia, treasurer and Renee LaCroix, secretary.

SHEA student representatives are: M.Arch – Luke Yu and Abraham Obregon; Ph.D. rep – Lucy Bai; Undergrad rep – Hilary Hagen,


  • Texas A&M University Health Science Center College of Medicine
  • Texas A&M University Health Science Center School of Rural Public Health
  • Texas A&M University
  • College of Veterinary Medicine
  • College of Architecture
  • Department of Architecture
  • CHSD — Center for Health Systems & Design
  • SHEA — Student Health Environments Association
  • GUPHA — Global University Programs in Health Care Architecture
  • HIAC — Health Industry Advisory Council
  • UIA/PHG — International Union of Architects Public Health Group

Center for Health Systems & Design
Health Industry Advisory Council:

  • Earl Swensson Associates Inc
  • HDR Architecture
  • HKS Architects
  • The Innova Group
  • Odell Associates, Inc.
  • Page Southerland Page
  • Perkins + Will
  • RTKL Associates, Inc.
  • Wingler & Sharp Architects
  • Herman Miller, Inc.


posted August 23, 2013