Acknowledgments: Spring 2017 Architecture-for-Health lectures

Ronalds Skaggs

Joseph Sprague

Craig Beale 

Judy Pruitt


 See lecture schedule

The Spring 2017 Architecture-For-Health Visiting Lecture Series, “Texas 2025: Toward Improved Health and Health Facility Design,” features weekly presentations from leaders in healthcare facility design and planning discussing challenges and opportunities stemming from Texas’ population growth and changing demographics.

Donors, Patrons & Sponsors

The lecture series is made possible by the generous support of College of Architecture Outstanding Alumni Ronald L. Skaggs, chairman emeritus, and Joseph G. Sprague, principal and senior vice president, healthcare director, of HKS Inc. through the Skaggs –Sprague Endowed Chair of Health Facilities Design.

Ronald L. Skaggs, FAIA, FACHA, FHFI, LEED AP, is an adjunct professor of architecture at the Texas A&M College of Architecture and donor of the Ronald L. and Sondra Skaggs Endowed Professor in Health Facilities Design and The Skaggs-Sprague Endowed Chair in Health Facilities Design. He is also a distinguished alumnus of Texas A&M University.

Joseph G. Sprague, FAIA, FACHA, FHFI, is a principal and senior vice president, HKS Inc.; past president, Facility Guidelines Institute; past president of the American College of Healthcare Architects; past president of the AIA Academy of Architecture for Health and donor to the Skaggs-Sprague Endowed Chair in Health Facilities Design.

Craig Beale FAIA, FACHA, FACHE, LEED AP, executive vice president and global healthcare director at HKS, is the donor of the Craig & Julie Beale Endowed Professor of Health Facilities Design and of funds to the Student Health Environments Association.

This fall’s lecture series is presented by a collaboration of the

The lecture series is coordinated by George J. Mann, AIA, holder of the Ronald L. Skaggs Endowed Professorship of Health Facilities Design, Bita Kash, CHOT director and associate professor of public health at the Texas A&M School of Public Health and Zhipeng Lu, CHSD associate director, with the assistance of Judy Pruitt, CHSD administrative assistant.

CHSD faculty research fellows:  Dr. Ray Pentecost, director; Kirk Hamilton, associate director;  Zhipeng Lu, associate director; Bita Kash, Elton Abbott, Mark Avnet, Eric Bardenhagen, Liliana Beltran, Geoffrey Booth, John Bryant, James Burdine, Charles Culp, Michael Duffy, Bruce Dvorak, Thomas K. Ferris, Rodney Hill, Daniel Howard, Chang-Shan Huang, Jun-Hyun Kim, Sarel Lavy, Chanam Lee, Ming-Han Li, Wei Li, George Mann, Ranjita Misra, Forster Ndubisi, Galen Newman, Michael O’Brien, Marcia Ory, Jon Rodiek, Susan Rodiek, Zofia Rybkowski, Jinsil Hwaryoung Seo, Daniel Sheridan, Lou Tassinary, Lesley Tomaszewski, Brett Trusko, James Varni, Judith Warren, Ward Wells and Xuemei Zhu.

Research fellows from additional institutions include Mardelle Shepley, Minyoung Seo Cerruti, Ruzica Bozovic-Stamenovic, Debra Harris, Diana Anderson, U. Smart Ekanem, Emmanuel Umoh, Jean Njoroge, Macharia Waruingi, Tammy Thompson, and Warren Kerr.


Center for Health Systems & Design Health Industry Advisory Council:

International HIAC Members

Administrative and Faculty Acknowledgements

  • Jay E. Maddock, PhD., dean, School of Public Health, Texas A&M Health Science Center;
  • Jorge A. Vanegas, dean, College of Architecture, professor of architecture;
  • Lesley Tomaszewski, managing director, NSF Center for Health Organization Transformation, School of Public Health; 
  • D. Kirk Hamilton, FAIA, FACHA, EDAC, Julie & Craig Beale Endowed Professor of Health Facilities Design, Faculty Fellow, Center for Health Systems & Design, College of Architecture;
  • Sarel Lavy, associate professor of construction science, associate head, Department of Construction Science, faculty fellow, Center for Health Systems & Design;
  • Chanam Lee, professor, department of landscape architecture and urban planning. faculty fellow, Center for Health Systems & Design;
  • Susan Rodiek, associate professor of architecture, faculty fellow, Center for Health Systems & Design;
  • Zofia K. Rybkowski, associate professor of construction science, faculty fellow, Center for Health Systems & Design;
  • Xuemei Zhu, associate professor of architecture, faculty fellow, Center for Health Systems & Design.
posted February 14, 2017