Dean announces professorship and fellowship appointments

Ben Bigelow

Kunhee Choi

Kirk Hamilton

Sarel Lavy

Lou Tassinary

New appointments to Texas A&M College of Architecture endowed professorships and fellowships, which support their holders’ teaching, research and service initiatives, have been announced by Jorge Vanegas, dean of the college.

Ben Bigelow, assistant professor of construction science, now holds the George W. Seagraves ’80 Faculty Fellowship in Residential Construction. Bigelow’s research interests include residential construction, affordable and sustainable housing, construction finance, and underrepresented groups in construction management.

Seagraves, a former executive at nationwide homebuilder D.R. Horton, established the fellowship to support an “up-and-coming” construction science faculty member who focuses on residential construction education.

Kunhee Choi, assistant professor of construction science, now holds the Cecil Windsor ‘66 Endowed Professorship in Construction Science. Choi investigates unique building challenges facing state transportation agencies and the business sector as well as the use of information technology and infrastructure modeling to improve the efficiency and sustainability of the U.S. transportation system.

The professorship was established by Keith Williams ’78, head of Gamma Construction Company, to support research advancing new construction technology and to honor Windsor, Williams’ industry mentor.

Kirk Hamilton, professor of architecture, now holds the Julie & Craig Beale ‘71 Endowed Professorship in Health Facilities Design. Hamilton focuses on evidence-based healthcare facility design and its relationship to organizational performance.

The Beales established the professorship to support teaching, research and/or service activities relating to healthcare facility planning and design.

Sarel Lavy, associate professor of construction science, now holds the James C. Smith Construction Industry Advisory Council Professorship. Lavy’s focuses include quantitative methods in healthcare and education facility management, construction engineering, and building maintenance, performance, and life cycle costs.

The professorship honors Smith, the late, former head of the Department of Construction Science who founded CIAC, a group of leading builders who play a multifaceted, critical role in Texas A&M construction education by advising department administrators and faculty of contemporary construction developments, connecting with students at departmental career fairs and providing financial support to the department.

Louis Tassinary, college executive associate dean and professor of visualization, now holds the John Only Greer ‘55 Architectural Heritage Professorship. Tassinary explores physical spaces’ influence on people’s emotions, non-invasive physiological recording techniques, and historic preservation law.

The professorship honors Greer, the late, celebrated architectural educator, industry leader and mentor to generations of aspiring Texas A&M architecture students, and supports its holders’ maintenance of the college archives, which Greer created.

posted July 21, 2016