Acknowledgements: Spring 2016 Architecture-For-Health lectures

Ron Skaggs

Joe Sprague

Craig Beale

Bita Kash

Judy Pruitt

The Spring 2016 Architecture-For-Health Lecture Series at Texas A&M University, “Toward World-Class Specialty Medical Facilities,” features leading public health administrators, physicians, healthcare facility administrators and architects from the United States and Taiwan.

Donors, Patrons and Sponsors

The lecture series is made possible by the generous support of College of Architecture Outstanding Alumni Ronald L. Skaggs, chairman emeritus, and Joseph G. Sprague, principal and senior vice president, and Craig Beale, executive vice president and global healthcare director, all of HKS Inc.

Ronald L. Skaggs, FAIA, FACHA, FHFI, LEED AP, is an adjunct professor of architecture at the Texas A&M College of Architecture and donor of the Ronald L. and Sondra Skaggs Endowed Professor in Health Facilities Design and The Skaggs-Sprague Endowed Chair in Health Facilities Design. He is also a distinguished alumnus of Texas A&M University.

Joseph G. Sprague, FAIA, FACHA, FHFI, is a principal and senior vice president, HKS Inc; president, Facility Guidelines Institute; past president of the ACHA-American College of Healthcare Architects and donor of the Skaggs-Sprague Endowed Chair in Health Facilities Design.

Craig Beale FAIA, FACHA, FACHE, LEED AP, executive vice president and global healthcare director at HKS, is the donor of the Craig & Julie Beale Endowed Professor of Health Facilities Design and of funds to the Student Health Environments Association.

This spring’s lecture series is presented by a collaboration of the

The lecture series is coordinated by George J. Mann, AIA, the Ronald L. Skaggs Endowed Professor of Health Facilities Design, Bita Kash, CHOT director, and associate professor of public health at the Texas A&M Health Science Center, Zhipeng Lu, CHSD associate director, with the assistance of Judy Pruitt, CHSD administrative assistant.

CHSD Faculty Fellows Prof. Kirk Hamilton (interim director), Dr. Elton Abbott, Dr. Sherry Bame, Dr. Liliana Beltran, Dr. Geoffrey Booth, Dr. Ruzica Bozovic-Stamenovic, Dr. John Bryant, Dr. Paul K. Carlton, Dr. Minyoung Seo Cerruti, Dr. Charles Culp, Dr. Michael Duffy, Dr. Thomas K. Ferris, Dr. Debra Harris, Dr. Chang-Shan Huang, Dr. Sarel Lavy, Dr. Chanam Lee, Dr. Zhipeng Lu, Prof. George J. Mann, Dr. Ranjita Misra, Dr. Marcia Ory, Dr. Susan Rodiek, Dr. Zofia Rybkowski, Dr. Lou Tassinary, Dr. James Varni, Dr. Judith Warren, Prof. Ward Wells,  Dr. Xuemei Zhu, Professor Rodney Hill, Dr. Jun Hyun Kim, Dr. Macharia Waruingi, Brett Trusco, Professor Bruce Dvorak, U. Smart Ekanem, Emmanuel Umoh, Dr. Eric Bardenhagen, Dr. Forster Ndubisi, Dr. Galen Newman, Dr. James Burdine, Jean Njoroge, Dr. Jinsil Hwaryoung Seo, Dr. Jon Rodiek, Dr. Mark Avnet, Dr. Ming-Han Li, Warren Kerr and Tammy Thompson.


• Texas A&M University
• Texas A&M University College of Architecture
• Department of Architecture
• CHSD — Center for Health Systems & Design
• SHEA  —  Student Health Environments Association
• GUPHA — Global University Programs in Health Care Architecture
• HIAC  —  Health Industry Advisory Council
• UIA / PHG  — International Union of Architects Public Health Group

Center for Health Systems & Design
Health Industry Advisory Council:

• Earl Swensson Associates Inc.
• FKP Architects, Inc. 
• HDR Architecture
 HKS Inc.
• Page
• WHR Architects



posted January 26, 2016