LAUP students earn Southerland scholarships for leadership roles

Patrick Patterson

Patrick Patterson

A Texas A&M scholarship recognizing leadership and service has been awarded to two students in the Department of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning.

Ed Tarlton, an Urban and Regional Sciences Ph.D. student and Patrick Patterson, a Bachelor of Science in Urban and Regional Planning student, earned the J. Malon Southerland Aggie Leader Scholarship, established to reflect Texas A&M’s commitment to learning and student involvement.

In 2010, Tarlton won the Buck Weirus Spirit Award from The Association of Former Students for his leadership roles and involvement in numerous student organizations including the Urban and Regional Science Student Organization, the African American Professional Organization and Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

During the 2011-2012 academic year Patterson was president of Future Leaders in Urban Planning, director of internal programming in the Memorial Student Center’s Woodson Black Awareness Committee and a member of CARPOOL, a student-operated, nonprofit organization that serves the Bryan/College Station community with free rides home at night and in the early morning hours Thursday through the weekend.

Southerland, the award's namesake, retired in 2003 after a 10-year stint as vice president for student affairs, part of a 36-year career at Texas A&M.

posted July 10, 2012